Concert Program
Sanctuary Road: An oratorio Based on the writings of William Still, a Conductor for the Underground Railroad
Music by Paul Moravec / Text by Mark Campbell
We Are One
Behzad Ranjbaran
Monday, MaY 7, 2018, 8:00 pm


Kent Tritle
conducting Chorus, Soloists
Laquita Mitchell, soprano
Raehann Bryce-Davis, mezzo-soprano
Joshua Blue, tenor
Malcolm J.Merriweather, baritone
Dashon Burton, bass-baritone
and the Orchestra of the Society

Concert Flyer (PDF)

Program Notes and Biographies
     Notes >>
          William Still >>
     Kent Tritle >>
     Chorus >>
     Paul Moravec >>
     Mark Campbell >>
     Behzad Ranjbaran >>
     Laquita Mitchell >>
     Raehann Bryce-Davis >>
     Joshua Blue >>
     Malcolm J. Merriweather >>
     Dashon Burton >>
     Orchestra >>

     First Tier Box: $90
     Second Tier Box Center: $70
     Second Tier Box Side: $55
     Prime Parquet: $80
     Non-Prime Parquet: $60
     Dress Circle: $50
     Balcony Front: $38
     Balcony Rear: $25


Two timely world premieres mark the close of the Society’s 145th season. 

Sanctuary Road: An Oratorio Based on the Writings of William Still, a Conductor for the Underground Railroad, by Pulitzer Prize winners Paul Moravec (music) and Mark Campbell (text) recounts Still’s first-hand experiences of journeys toward freedom on the Underground Railroad. Sanctuary Road was commissioned by the Oratorio Society of New York in honor of Kent Tritle with generous support from Joanne Spellun.

We Are One by Juilliard faculty member Behzad Ranjbaran, whose music possesses “radiant luminescence” ( Washington Post ), presents texts from different time periods, cultures, and languages that reflect on the human desire for mutual respect and peace. We Are One was commissioned in honor of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. by the Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra which has graciously allowed the Oratorio Society of New York to present the world premiere.

Together, Sanctuary Road and We Are One encourage us to hope that human dignity will prevail.