The Lyndon Woodside Oratorio-Solo Competition

Semi-Finals: April 7, 2018, in NYC
Finals Concert: April 14, 2018, 1:30 pm, Weill Recital Hall in Carnegie Hall

Congratulations to the Semi Finalists of our 2018 Solo Competition

Elizabeth Baldwin
Amy Broadbent
Scott Brunscheen
Sean Christensen
Jesse Darden
David Diston
Colin Doyle

Anna Dugan
Zach Finkelstein
Brian Giebler
Allison Gish
Kristin Gornstein
Gon Halevi
Sarah Hawkey

Chloe Holgate
Aaron Ingersoll
Geeseop Kim
Jaeyeon Kim
Emily Marvosh
Andrew Munn
Heather Petrie

Christopher Richardson
Cairan Ryan
Meagan Sill
Devony Smith
Charles Sy
Boris Van Druff
Edward Vogel


In 1977 the Oratorio Society of New York inaugurated a solo competition to encourage the art of oratorio singing and to give young singers an opportunity to advance their careers. International in scope, it is the only competition dedicated solely to the art of oratorio singing. Competition winners have appeared in concert with the Oratorio Society of New York as well as with other major choral societies and orchestras worldwide. In 2006 the competition’s name was changed to honor Lyndon Woodside, the Society’s late Music Director, and his dedication to the competition from its inception. 

First Place, Ellen Lopin Blair Award: $7,000
Second Place, Stanley C. Meyerson Award: $5,000
Third Place, Janet Plucknett Award: $3,000                    
Alfred A. Hubay Award: $2,500
Frances MacEachron Award: $1,500
Lyndon Woodside Encouragement Award: $1,000
Robert & Winifred Connelly Green Award: $1,000
Leopold Damrosch Award: $1,000

Joshua Blue
2017 First Place Winner

Hear the next generation of soloists in concert as they compete for cash prizes. Pit your choices against those of the distinguished panel of judges.

For additional information: